The Foodie Diaries: Il Carnivale Di Gelato Messina

It’s difficult to come across a Sydney-sider foodie who hasn’t at least heard of Messina. With a number of stores spread out across the CBD and surrounding suburbs, Messina has become such an adored hotspot, that just the mere utterance of its name comes hand in hand with a heavenly spotlight and singing choir.

Jokes and hyperbole aside, Messina gelato is a must for any sweeth-tooth visiting Sydney. And with flavours such as Salted Caramel and White Chocolate, Italian Nougat, and Pannacotta with Fig Jam and Amaretti Biscuit, you just have to believe me. If you’re not yet convinced, click here for a list of Messina’s signature flavours. Do it. I dare you.

Anyway, I’m writing this blog post because last night I visited their stall as part of the Sydney Festival. I first saw their special menu for the event on social media and from then on found myself craving things I’d only read about.

I am the first to admit that often when I read up on something I build it up to such a high standard then when I finally get to experience it I end up disappointed.

Not. This. Time.

I ordered the Messinawiener (can’t help but giggle at the name), which is described as:

A baton of maple syrup gelato coated in pancake batter, deep fried and crispy – Dipped in plum sauce.

My first bite was heaven. As was every bite thereafter. Except for the last bite. That was just upsetting.

BUT ALL WAS WELL! Because lucky for me, I was accompanied by a very fine gentleman who let me eat some of his sundae – the Pavlova Polava:

Vanilla bean gelato, mixed berry soft jellies, passionfruit coulis and crushed baked meringue.

That too was amazing. I cannot rave enough about baked meringue in ice cream.

Image

And when all that was done, this fine gentleman also bought me the Salted Caramel and Popcorn Shake. Not nearly as life-changing as the previous two, but nevertheless yummy enough to send me home perfectly satisfied with the rest of my life and not all that bothered by my impending diabetes diagnosis.

Anyone in Sydney, Il Carnivale Di Gelato Messina will be at the Festival Village in Hyde Park until Australia Day. I strongly advise you head there.

Image

One thought on “The Foodie Diaries: Il Carnivale Di Gelato Messina

Leave a Reply

