My Top 5 Skin Saviours

I’ve mentioned in a previous post that my skin is prone to dry flakes but still has problems with oil. However, I refuse to let this bring me down and I’m a firm believer in tackling one issue at a time. Nowadays my skin is far more hydrated and overall more healthy than what it used to be. Here is a list of my top 5 (affordable!) skin saving products…

Note: I’ve chosen not to include prices because some of these products are available for varying prices at different locations.

Image

1. Rosehip Oil – 30ml
Aura Cacia
For those new to facial oils, it probably sounds strange to be slathering oil onto my face when I have oily skin. What you need to realise though is that this is a good oil. I bought this because I’d heard so many wonderful recommendations from friends who had used rosehip oil for dry patches, as well as for generally boosting the health of their skin. It went to work pretty much instantly. The day after my first application, I already had less dry flakes and nowadays while I do find the occasional dryness here and there, a little extra attention in that area with the rosehip oil improves the situation drastically. There are more expensive brands of rosehip oil out on the market – some with slight variations and added ingredients – but in my opinion, so long as you’ve purchased something with rosehip oil as one of the fundamental working ingredients then you’ve made the right decision. All you need are a few drops spread onto your face, particularly on problem areas, morning and night. Alternatively, mix in a few drops with your moisturiser and apply it that way.

SUMMARISED:

Pros

  • Clear and rapid results on dry patches
  • Can find cheaper, yet effective brands
  • Accessible – can find it in a number of different stores, pharmacies and online
  • A small amount goes a long way

Cons

  • Smell is not to be confused with roses!

Image

2. Hydraluron – 30 ml
Indeed Laboratories
This serum also came strongly recommended. It’s a lot more pricey than the other things on this list, especially when you factor in the small portion size but I still repurchase. For me, Hydraluron has definitely worked. I must admit there are times when I’ve been a little sceptical, but after going one week without the serum after my first tube ran out, I realised how much of an improvement it makes on my skin. Like the rosehip oil, this product helped with my dry flakes but in a more modest way. There were no overnight WOW experiences here. Rather, Hydraluron seems more like a long-term commitment. Instead of hydrating your skin’s surface, it works beneath – combating dryness at its core. It’s able to do this because it contains hyaluronic acid, which has the power to retain 1000 times its weight in water. You only need a tiny amount and it dries almost instantly, so it’s perfect to wear under makeup.

SUMMARISED:

Pros

  • Definitely worked to boost moisture for me and comes highly recommended
  • No alarming scent or colour
  • Only requires a small amount
  • Dries quickly and feels as though there’s nothing there – perfect under makeup

Cons

  • A little pricey for a small amount of product
  • No instantaneous change (for me, it was more gradual)

Image

3. Foaming Gel Cleanser – 120ml
People for Plants
This fairly new Australian skincare range by Jamie Durie promotes transparency by listing the percentage of organic ingredients in each product. The foaming gel cleanser, with aloe and grapefruit, has 74.5% organic ingredients and promises to never leave skin dry or tight. This is what captured my attention. Before I bought this cleanser, previous face washes always left my face feeling both dry and tight. I was eager to escape such a dreadful pattern. The first time I tried this cleanser, I was left smiling ear to ear (an enormous improvement considering I couldn’t do such a thing with previous cleansers leaving my face so tight!). I’ve been using it for over four months now and I’m pretty intent on repurchasing when this tube finishes. It has a lovely fragrance and leaves me feeling extremely fresh and clean afterwards. One of the best changes I’ve ever made in my life was switching to this cleanser.

SUMMARISED:

Pros

  • Never leaves skin dry or tight
  • Skin feels fresh and clean afterwards
  • Only requires a small amount because is foaming – lasts a while
  • Has a fresh and lovely scent
  • Ideal for normal to combination skin (perfect for me!)

Cons

  • A little more pricey than many other (but less worthy) drugstore cleansers
  • Not really accessible internationally

Image

4. RUB & Scrub – 100ml
Models Prefer
Exclusive to Priceline, the new Models Prefer (MP) beauty range features a mix of cosmetics, makeup brushes and skincare solutions. I have a number of their products which I’ll probably review on the blog soon, but for now I want to rave about this exfoliating scrub. No matter what your skin type, exfoliating your face is a recommended weekly activity to deeply cleanse the skin and to help unclog pores. Although I knew an exfoliator would help remove some of the ugly dry flakes, I was worried it might backfire and leave my skin feeling tighter and more damaged than ever. What drew me to this product was the fact that it included the brand’s “MP aquaFLEX,” which I knew from my use of other MP products to assist in retaining moisture. After my first trial of the RUB & Scrub, I was pleasantly surprised to find my skin was not only soft and smooth, but it felt quite hydrated as well. This has now become a regular and welcome part of my weekly skincare regimen.

SUMMARISED:

Pros

  • Does not dry the skin out
  • Skin is left feeling soft and smooth
  • Pleasant and subtle scent
  • Gentle enough for some skin types to use twice a week
  • Very inexpensive!

Cons

  • Once again, as an Australian brand, accessibility for international customers is a bit of a problem

Image

5. Blotting Paper – 100 pieces
Paul & Joe
I’m not going to lie, the reason I bought this particular blotting paper was for the dolphins on the packaging. It was too adorable to resist. But my penchant for animal decor aside, blotting paper in general is something every beauty-crazed girl (or boy) should keep in their purse. This product has nothing to do with hydrating one’s skin, however I still believe it’s enough of a saviour (albeit, an incredibly simple one) to deserve a place on my list. Everyone knows that after a couple of hours, especially in warmer weather, foundation starts to rebel and often manifests this rebellion in a build-up of oil. Given my skin’s tendency to oil up around my T-zone, I experience this too often. This is where blotting tissues come in handy. Without wiping off makeup, it soaks up the excess oil on your face with a few dabs and instantly you look less shiny. I know a number of people who just use tissues and dab gently on their faces, and having done this myself I can say that this also works – although it does collect some foundation along with the oil. Why not invest a few dollars in some handy dandy blotting paper? Even cheaper brands should do the trick – it really is such a simple product!

SUMMARISED:

Pros

  • Very easy to use
  • Effective for collecting excess oil
  • Accessible and affordable
  • Does not wipe off makeup
  • Small enough to keep in purse

Cons

  • As it’s merely paper, will often require more than one sheet to apply to the whole face (but considering most brands come with more than 50 sheets per pack, this isn’t that big of an issue)

Image

If you have any enquiries about the products featured here (whether it be about where I purchased them, costs or anything at all) then please leave a comment. I’d also like to hear about your top skin saviours. Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

